30th Anniversary Benefit


Thank you for joining us!  


Check out more photos from the night by photographer Yvonne Feece and from the CuPics photobooth!


Dear friends,

Last night Writers in the Schools rocked the Junior League with its 30th anniversary Celebration of Story. Anita Kruse and the Purple Songs Can Fly students gave stunning performances of original songs, and Meta-Four Houston wowed attendees with riveting poetry.

We met our ambitious goal of $120k and exceeded it by nearly 20%, making this is our biggest year ever! These dollars will allow WITS to extend the mission of teaching creative literacy to low income students across Houston.

Thank you, everyone, for making this possible. It is with your continuing efforts that thousands of students discover the pleasure and power of reading and writing.

All best,

Robin's E-Signature (1)

Robin Reagler, PhD

Executive Director



30th Anniversary Host Committee

MaryScott Hagle + Daniel Kornberg, Event Chairs
Catherine D. Anspon
Jessica Rossman +
        Gordon Bethune
Harriet Riley + Greg Browne
Nicola Parente +
        Aaron Courtland
Ellen + Michael Cregan
Melanie Malinowski +
        Andy Cunningham
Barbara + Jonathan Day
Carol Herron + Cara Delgado
J. Todd Frazier
Lizzie + Scott Fletcher
Nancy + Joe Ford
Tina + Craig Freedman
Meredith Canada + 
        Michelle Hale
Randi Faust + Carl Herman 
Mayor Annise Parker +
        Kathy Hubbard
Lenora Noroski +
        Frank Inselbuch
Anika + Craig Jackson
Burdine Johnson
Kathy + Karl Kilian
John Palmer + Ryan Lindsay
Trish Morille
Karen McKibben + The Hon. William Morris
Marcia + Michael Nichols
Monica Pope
Cynthia + David Portugal
Patricia Delaney +
        Warren Rawson
Josephine + 
        The Hon. Bill Rice
Barry Mandel +
        Scott Sawyer
Lisa + Roy Sheinbaum
Nicola Springer
Lois + George Stark
Doug Suggitt
Ginya + Clayton Trier
Gena + Michael Vaughn
Melissa + Steve Waters
Andrea +
        The Hon. Bill White
Aline + Collie Wilson


30th Anniversary Sponsors :: Special Thanks


Mrs. Marie Bosarge
H-E-B Tournament of Champions
John Palmer Art



Momentum Audi
Dr. Barbara and Mr. Vic Samuels
Stellus Capital Management, LLC
Texas Children’s Hospital
Wells Fargo


Ahmad, Zavitsanos, Anaipakos, Alavi & Mensing P.C.
ASA Dally, Inc. Structural Engineers
Bright Sky Press
Carliss Chatman
Melanie Malinowski and Andy Cunningham
Deborah I. Detering | Lizzie & Scott Fletcher
Edward and Helen Oppenheimer Foundation
Meredith Canada and Michelle Hale
HarrisonKornberg Architects
Antonia Day Helland and George Helland
MaryScott Hagle and Daniel Kornberg
Karen McKibben and The Hon. William Morris
Xavier Peña
Patricia Delaney and Warren Rawson
Diana Strassmann and Jeff Smisek
Gena and Michael Vaughn
Susman Godfrey LLP
Vinson & Elkins LL


CenterPoint Energy
Katie and Mark Cervenka
Barbara and Jonathan Day
David Peck USA
DBR Engineering Consultants
Paige and George Hagle
Anthony LaBruna
Eva Geer and Pam Moore
Marcia and Michael Nichols
Katie and Bob Orr
Michael Pipkin
Sheleah and Antonio Reed
Nancy and Ken Spitler


Friends of:

Carliss Chatman
Garrick Malone | BP


Make a Difference

Your support makes a big difference! Didn't attend the event? You can still sponsor a child and give the gift of WITS. Together, we will help children craft the story of their lives!

Featured art by John Ross Palmer